Reset WordPress Website To Default

Recently, one of our readers asked us, “How do I restart my WordPress site?” This isn’t something that most users will need to do, but knowing how to reset WordPress website to default can be very helpful in some situations.

In this tutorial, we’ll show you how to restart or reset your WordPress site, the fast way. If you’ve made some changes to your site that you can’t undo, or if your site is just acting strange and you can’t figure out why, resetting WordPress might be the best solution.

It’s also a good idea to create a backup of your site before you reset it, just in case something goes wrong. If you’re ready to reset your WordPress site, let’s get started!

Reset WordPress Website To Default
[toc]

Why Restart a WordPress Site?

Restarting or resetting WordPress is a process where you restore WordPress to the default settings. Think of it as a similar process to restoring your phone to the default “factory settings”.

It will delete all your apps and customizations, so you can start over fresh.

There are several situations where you might want to restart or reset a WordPress site:

  1. As a WordPress developer, I often find it helpful to reset my local install of WordPress. This helps to ensure that I am testing themes and plugins on a clean slate and prevents any buildup of cruft that can occur over time. If you are also a WordPress developer, or if you simply want to keep your local install clean and tidy, then I would recommend resetting it on a regular basis. Doing so only takes a few minutes, and it can save you a lot of time and headaches in the long run. So why not give it a try? You might be surprised at how helpful it can be.
  2. Have you ever been working on a project and realized that you’ve made a mistake? Maybe you’ve been busy creating a blog or website, but you are not happy with the customizations. Instead of undoing everything, you can simply reset WordPress and quickly start over with a new design. Resetting WordPress is easy and only takes a few minutes. With a reset, you can quickly change your theme, add new plugins, and customize your site to your heart’s content. So if you’re ever feeling stuck with your current WordPress site, remember that a reset is always an option.
  3. As any web developer knows, a website is never truly finished. Whether it’s adding new features, fixing bugs, or simply changing the color scheme, there’s always something that can be improved. However, sometimes a client will want a complete overhaul of their website, and that’s where resetting WordPress comes in. Resetting WordPress will delete all of the existing content and settings, allowing you to start from scratch. This can be a time-consuming process, but it’s often necessary in order to create the website that the client wants. So if you’re facing a major rework project, don’t panic – just remember that resetting WordPress might be the best way to get the job done.

Video Tutorial

If you’d prefer written instructions, just keep reading.

How to Reset WordPress Website To Default

Restarting your WordPress site might sound difficult, but it’s really not. In fact, it can be a great way to freshen up your site and start fresh with a new look.

We’re going to walk you through the entire reset process, step by step. First, you’ll need to create a full backup of your site using a WordPress backup plugin.

This is important in case you want to restore your site from the backup after restarting it.

Reset WordPress Website To Default with WP Reset

You may now move on to restarting your WordPress site. We’ll do this with the free version of the WP Reset plugin.

The WP Reset plugin must first be installed and activated. See our WordPress plugin installation instructions for more information.

After you’ve activated the plugin, navigate to Tools » WP Reset in your WordPress dashboard and scroll down to the Site Reset section.

You must write the word’reset’ in the confirmation form before clicking the red ‘Reset Site’ button to reset your site.

Reset WordPress Website To Default with WP Reset

WP Reset will prompt you for confirmation that you wish to reset the site. To continue, click ‘Reset WordPress.’

Reset WordPress

For a few seconds, you’ll see the message “Resetting in progress.” Your site will then be relaunched.

The homepage of your WordPress dashboard will appear next, with a success message from WP Reset at the top.

Resetting in progress

That’s it. You’ve reset WordPress website to default.

Optional WP Reset Functions When Restarting Your Site

The procedure described above includes everything you’ll need to restart your site.

However, WP Reset has a few extra features that you might find useful.

Before you restart your WordPress site, take a snapshot of it.

WP Reset may be used to take a snapshot of your site. A snapshot is a moment in time when your WordPress database may be restored.

It allows you to view what has changed since the snapshot was taken. If required, you can utilize it to undo modifications.

A snapshot is not the same as a WordPress backup. To restore your website, you should still make backups.

Select the Snapshots tab to begin creating the snapshot. Then, at the bottom of the page, click the Create Snapshot button:

Optional WP Reset Functions When Restarting Your Site

You’ll be asked to give the snapshot a name or a description. Click the ‘Create snapshot’ button after typing in whatever you wish to use.

Taking a Snapshot of Your WordPress Site Before Restarting

Using WP Reset to Remove Themes and Plugins

WP Reset does not erase theme or plugin files by default. It simply turns them off. You may, however, use it to remove these files as well.

To begin, navigate to Tools » WP Reset and select the ‘Tools’ option. Simply click the ‘Delete Themes’ or ‘Delete Plugins’ buttons to access those options immediately.

wp reset delete themes plugins

When you click either link, you’ll be sent to the appropriate tool:

wp reset delete all themes button 1

You may delete them by clicking the ‘Delete all themes’ or ‘Delete plugins’ buttons.

Important: WP Reset does not make any backups of your files. It is impossible to reverse the deletion of your themes and plugins.

You’ll be asked to confirm your action when you click the button. To continue, click the Delete option on the popup.

Delete all themes

The number of themes or plugins that have been removed will be displayed in a notice.

If you uninstall all themes, you’ll have to manually install and activate a new one. Without one, your website will not function. You’ll see something like this if you go to Appearance » Themes:

wp reset no themes

Simply click the ‘Add New’ button and select or upload a theme of your choosing.

Restoring Your Data After Restarting Your WordPress Site

Any articles and pages you had before restarting your WordPress site will be gone. Instead, the default pages and the ‘Hello, world’ message will appear:

Restoring Your Data After Restarting Your WordPress Site

You’ll need to reinstall and activate the backup plugin you used to generate your backup in order to restore your previous data.

You may then restore your site from the backup by following the on-screen instructions.

Seeing Your Restored Files

Your content should be recovered once you’ve restored your site from backup.

All of your posts may be found under Posts » All Posts. The time stamps, categories, tags, and comments will all be correct.

Viewing Your Restored Content

We hope this guide taught you how to quickly reset a WordPress site. You might also be interested in our list of essential WordPress plugins for all sites.

Please subscribe to our YouTube Channel for WordPress video tutorials if you enjoyed this post. You may also find us on Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn.